JEE Main Topper Suraj Krishna wants to join this IIT College

The JEE Main result 2018 was declared by the CBSE on its official result websites and on Monday. The top 231,024 candidates will be eligible for JEE Advanced, which is used for admission to Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) and other top engineering institutes.

Suraj Krishna from Vijayawada secured All India Rank 1. Suraj Krishna, who topped JEE Mains 2018, is a General Category student. JEE Main topper Suraj Krishna has secured 350 marks in total.

The last two years have been all work and no play for Vijayawada boy, Suraj Krishna, who emerged at the top of the All-India charts in the JEE (Main) 2018 exams. While the teenager said that he followed no set pattern to prepare for the test, Suraj Krishna confessed that he distanced himself from what he likes the most — cricket — to keep himself focused.


The 17-year-old Suraj who is studying in Srichaitanya Techno School in CIPL program since class 7 said that he wanted to do computer science in IIT Mumbai Speaking to PTI over the phone from Vijaywada, the topper Suraj Krishna said, “I was confident of my performance when the answer keys were out, but I had not expected to bag the top rank.” He added  “I am interested in IIT Mumbai because all my seniors are studying there and they have told me the computer science is really good in IIT Mumbai.”

He added, “My aim is to become a computer engineer. I am already selected for Orientation cum Selection in Mumbai (OCSSH). I used to study for 13 to 14 hours for qualifying JEE mains and to get the best rank in IITS. I will be writing JEE advanced on May 9.”

Suraj Krishna (Times of India)

Thrilled that his son’s hard work has paid off, Suraj’s father Hari Krishna, who runs a small shop in Srikakulam in Andhra Pradesh said he is proud of his son’s achievement. “I felt very happy and proud,” the father said sharing how he got the news from his son over telephone. Suraj Krishna’s mother is a housewife.


The second rank was secured by KVR Hemant Kumar Chodipilli from Andhra Pradesh while the third rank was bagged by Parth Lathuria. Pranav Goyal from Haryana was AIR 4, Gattu Mytraya from Telangana AIR 5, Pawan Goyal from Rajasthan AIR 6, Bhaskar Arun Gupta from Rajasthan AIR 7, Bakarapu Bharath from Andhra Pradesh AIR 8, Simranpreet Singh Saluja from Delhi AIR 9, Gosula Vinayaka Srivardhan from Telangana AIR 10.